Uncategorized

Miley, the Monster We Created

I started a blog about how we need to let these child stars grow up and live their own lives. I wanted to talk about how as parents it is our jobs to raise our own children and stop assuming that they will be and expecting celebrities to be socially responsible. As parents we are ultimately responsible for what our children are exposed to. We should be telling them what they are allowed to watch and listen to.

I was going to talk about how it is our job as parents to be the very first role model our children have  and that even when they start looking for role models outside of the home the morals and values we have instilled should guide them in these choices.

I was writing this in defense to Miley Cyrus’s song “We Can’t Stop.”  I was fed up with all the conspiracy theories concerning what Miley could possibly be talking about.  I’ve heard the song several times as a matter of fact it is my daughter’s favorite song at the moment.  I won’t confirm or deny any references to drugs. I will say that I read the lyrics. My child is intelligent enough to have read between the lines herself. I am my child’s parent it is my ultimate decision. Because I am my child’s parent I also know my child well enough to know that she won’t be influenced or swayed by a drug reference.

I was writing the piece because I was also tired of the collective gasp that happens every time a child star grows up and does something adult like.  No matter what age Disney or Nickelodeon harvests them these people grow and mature and at some point become ready to assert their individualism and who are we to try and hold them back? As soon as their obligation is over and their show is no longer aired why do we care what they do? The past is the past.

I was going to write about that.  But after last night’s VMA’s, I too am over the shenanigans that is Miley Cyrus. I will say this; Miley is an adult. She is under no obligation to set an example for our children and short of breaking laws even be an upstanding citizen. If you let your children watch the VMA’s I’m sure Hannah Montana’s antics should not have been your biggest concern.

Image
Photo: Getty Images

As soon as Miley the Twerker hit the red carpet, I knew there was Tom Foolery to be had. The nicest thing I can say is that she looked odd.  She was all kinds of confident though. That eased my mind a little. Maybe she would blow us away. Maybe we could forget about the twerking, the rapping, the questionable song lyrics and overall refusal to turn down. That would have been too much like the right thing to do.

I think I was still reeling from Gaga’s performance when Miss Cyrus took the stage because I was not shocked at first. Then it begins to hit me. Miley was pretty much free styling and she was doing it badly. This is not something that you convince me otherwise of. I refuse to believe that this was a rehearsed and choreographed performance.

Most of us agree that Twerking Miley is rubbish. It was funny  hilarious when she twerked for us in the unicorn onesie. I’ll admit I watched it more than once. She was cute. Here’s where Miley went wrong. We laughed at her she assumed we laughed with her. She adopted twerking as her new thing. Those of you that are upset that she “misappropriated “ twerking are silly. Personally I don’t want that as a black thing.  There are a million reasons why we should just let Miley have this one. Okay, back to the matter at hand. Miley comes on stage failing to hit notes (I usually like her voice) and then doing her “signature” dance move horribly. I don’t have enough rhythm to save my life but I know that child was way off.  I won’t even mention wardrobe or the rest of what was going on stage. I do wonder who footed the bill for those costumes.

Anyway Hannah is out there doing everything wrong, and the intro to Robin Thicke’s song begins. I expect her to reel her shenanigans in, but nope.  Blurred Lines is that song where you instinctively want to dance sexy to and just let loose. I get it.   At this point a million flying insects could have entered my gaping mouth. First she butchers the song, then Thicke comes out and she loses her ever loving mind. It would have been acceptable for her to sing well and maybe do the choreography from Thicke’s video. Not Miley the Twerker. I wouldn’t be mad if Paula Patton snatched those faux teddy bear ears right up out of Miley’s head. Miss was doing way too much. The absolute most.

And now it’s time for my unpopular opinion.  I blame us for Miley’s bad behavior. She should be held accountable but we created the monster. She twerked the first time, we watched and shared it to death.  Rather we thought it was ha-ha funny or ironic we continued to encourage her to twerk. She became like the bad American Idol act we tolerate and then let grow on us until their horribleness goes viral and we’re hooked. She became a thing so she twerked some more. Then she rapped. Then she told us what being black is. Then she performed on the VMAs and everyone is mad again.

Miley will read the negativity and check y’all via tweet as soon as she turns down from the VMA’s. She will remind you that Mr. Carter said it was okay for her to twerk. She obviously is bad at picking up on sarcasm. She’s not going to acknowledge that her performance was bad because, haters.  If you shared Unicorn Miley Twerks at any time, be mad at yourself.

We are not getting Miley up out of here anytime soon.  She has an album to sell and the wild child image is going to sell it.

One thought on “Miley, the Monster We Created

  1. You bring up some interesting views. Someone needs to sit this woman down (and I say woman because she’s not a child anymore) and tell her that she needs to stop it because it’s not cute, not funny, and we’re gonna be honest about it not entertaining. I think another aspect of Miley Cyrus is the fact that she comes off as someone misappropriating an aspect of black culture for self serving reasons, which is ultimately somewhat disrespectful.

Leave a Reply

