Uncategorized

Confessions of a Serial Procrastinator: Weight Loss Edition- Day 7

Well it’s Monday again. It was manic as usual. I needed to run a bunch of errands and now I have some work to do.  I won’t be able to get a work out in today.  Usually I’d love the opportunity to be a slacker but my body actually wants to be in motion today. Go figure.

I haven’t written in a few days so I just wanted to cover the weekend.  I was very pessimistic about the “new” meds but I have to admit that I am feeling much better. The daily feeling of despair is slowly fading. I’m motivated and getting things done. My concentration has improved and my smiles and attitude are genuine. (I fake my way through a lot of days.)  I’m looking forward to feeling normal 95% of the time.

On Friday, Tiffany and I set out to do 5 miles. I don’t know why it was so hard on me.  Tiffany is the best cheerleader you could have. She’s so positive and she pushed me. I’m grateful but when I came home I vowed that I would never in my life exercise again. I lay down to die. (Okay, I’m being dramatic.  I just took a really long nap.)  ImageOne thing is for certain I have to start eating enough calories and hydrating way more than I’ve been doing.

I thought I would still be at death’s door on Saturday.  It’s amazing how motivated you become when your daughter is PRETENDING to babysit.  With a house full of rowdy kids I got myself together and hit the towpath. I walked and kept walking. The first mile came so naturally. I didn’t start sweating until mile 2. I pushed myself to 3. I turned around and walked 3 more miles back to my house.  I took the burn of those 6 miles like a champ! I got home and my legs were rubbery but otherwise I felt great.  The feeling of accomplishment outweighs any negativity. Image

On Sunday my body was absolutely ready to go. I was procrastinating as usual but I was hitting that towpath no matter what then there was a knock on the door.  My neighborhood was crawling with firemen, crime lab techs, and police officers.   There was a dead body found across the street from my house. Image There seemed to be a lot of unanswered questions, and as of right now there still is no word as to who the unfortunate person is or what happened.  I didn’t feel comfortable walking by myself or leaving my children by themselves.  I thought about taking them with me and imagined the whining that would ensue after mile one and after nature walking was no longer intriguing.  I changed my mind. 

I’m not pleased to be on day two with no exercise.  I have to manage my time better. I really don’t know how people manage to do everything and still get a workout in.  I fell “asleep” on an infomercial Friday night. I remember it being about a 25 minute workout.  I could manage that on days where I’m overwhelmed and can’t devote an hour or two to walking.  Until then I’ll manage a walk somehow.

 

9 thoughts on “Confessions of a Serial Procrastinator: Weight Loss Edition- Day 7

  1. Man, I hate running. Try biking. Its a bit easier on your body, and more relaxing for me. I hate how the majority of weight you lose is water weight. Stupidest thing since sliced bread. :P. Serial Procrastinator…my life in 2 words. LOL. Good luck, I wish you the best!

  2. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You’ll find the to workout trust me because now it’s something you want to do. And after seeing that when you opened the door is very understandable. Plus I hear loud and clear about the little ones whinning and complaining when you’re doing your thing lol. When your in that zone complaints is the last thing you wanna hear. And I’m glad that your new meds are helping you feel like the normal you even though I don’t really know you lol it’s good to hear or read somebody else getting themselves together. It gives me hope that we can overcome our issues a great read. But what about the crime that happened will guys still stay there? Is there any leads since Sunday? Im from New Orleans crime is constant in the city…

    • Thank you for your kind words. You don’t understand how encouraging it is. As far as the crime, I have no idea what happened or who it was even. There was nothing in the papers yesterday and it didn’t make the local news. I will continue to live here. I don’t know enough about what happened to be fearful. I have a lot of self defense training and I carry a taser. My doors are reinforced and I have great deadbolts so I’m kinda like “meh.” I can’t live in fear.

Leave a Reply

