Uncategorized

Confessions of a Serial Procrastinator Weight Loss Edition-Progress!

Mentally I’m doing okay. I feel better than I have in a long time. I would almost dare to say that my mental health is the best that it has ever been. Don’t get me wrong. I still have my bad days and my absolute horrible days, but the biggest difference is that I want to live and I want to enjoy my life.

I’m not an expert but I have found some things that work for me.  (By all means speak with your doctor before starting any regimen.)

  • I made a conscientious decision to help myself. I had to take control of my mental and physical health. Until I did this it was difficult for me to progress.
  • I have accepted the fact that I need and benefit from anti-depressants. Not only do I take those, I’ve started some other supplements as well to aid in mental health and focus.

Image

  • I changed my diet dramatically. It is hard, but junk food and anything high in fat is not only bad for my waistline, these foods have not done anything to improve my mental health. I do not like being bogged down and tired. A high energy level helps me cope.
  • I am a night owl by nature. This leads to bouts of Insomnia. No sleep leads to crankiness and mood swings. I also take a prescription sleep aid. The more sleep I get the better I feel.
  • I am attempting to be more sociable. Just hanging out and talking to friends and family daily is starting to improve my moods. I may not share everything with everybody but knowing I have people that will listen and not be judgmental is a huge weight lifted.
  • Blogging and journaling about this journey is a great outlet for me.  I write constantly but focusing on me makes the difference.
  • I meditate. I pray. I exercise. The combination of these things has worked wonders for me.

As far as my weight loss goes, I am making wonderful progress. I weighed myself the other day and I could not believe what a difference a few weeks make.   I am excited for my “official” weigh in.  I am hard on myself (no crash dieting or deprivation) but it’s worth it.  I’m not winded as easily and my jeans are getting baggy.  I am motivated to lose the weight.  Yes, I still need to lose weight for health reasons, but now I want to.

My ultimate goal is a bit extreme. My goal may not work for anyone else. I lack discipline and self-control so I have to be harder on myself.  Somebody else may be fine with a cheat day every now and again but I can’t do it.  I need a lifestyle change and not a diet. I need something to help me consistently lose weight and then keep it off. I don’t recommend you follow my routine and diet exactly but this is what has been working for me.

  • I am not eating anything fried and I have been avoiding red meat
  • I try to drink water or unsweetened tea only.
  • I use portion control. I don’t always count my calories but I do pay attention.
  • I do use NATURAL dietary/appetite suppressant aids.
  • I try not to deprive myself. If I want it I eat it but the key is not overeating. (I have a candy bar in my purse right now.  It has been there for almost 24 hours. I took two bites and left it alone. )
  • I am a chronic fad dieter. I may take a tip or two from the most popular diets, but why repeat the same cycle? They don’t work I refuse to do them. Again, I’ll stress lifestyle change over dieting.
  • I exercise. Not as much as I should but I do make an effort.
  • Eating healthier more often has also aided in my weight loss.

Image

Well that is it for today. Thanks for reading. I also want to thank the people in my everyday life and my virtual life that have been supportive. Every encouraging word is appreciated. 

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Serial Procrastinator Weight Loss Edition-Progress!

  1. Good job! I think it’s so important to figure out what works for ourselves. Everyone is different so it’s up to each of us to work out what works.

    Cheat days don’t work well for me either. They awaken too many cravings that I have to struggle to tamp back down. I don’t like to struggle if I don’t have to!

Leave a Reply

